Pea & Cashew Pesto Pasta

Hi Guys!

I’m sharing a meal idea today that is a great substitute for those creamy, cheesy pasta meals we all love!

This is something that I missed when cutting out dairy and gluten from my diet, so I’m glad to find a meal that hits the spot- comfort food that is healthy!

The pesto is a recipe from Honestly Healthy, and is so simple and so satisfying!! It’s  really good replacement for pesto, which usually contains cheese. Even so, it is always nice to make your own and avoid processed foods!! This works out cheaper and literally takes two minutes to prepare.

IMG_0579

This was my first time trying out brown rice pasta, and it is a brilliant sub for wheat pasta. I did find it slightly chewier, but really not enough to cause an issue! For me this is a much better pasta alternative to the ‘gluten-free pastas’ which I feel are just overly processed in many cases. I used the brand Dove’s Farm which is organic and I found it in my local SuperValu.

Ingredients:

Brown rice pasta

Scallions

2 cloves garlic

Butter beans

Parsley

Peas

3 tbsp coconut milk

For the pesto:

50g Cashew nuts

40g fresh coriander

1 clove garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

Method:

Boil the pasta, as per instructions.

Saute the scallions and garlic on medium heat in coconut oil.

Add the peas, if frozen-stir as they defrost.

Add the parsley, coconut milk, and butter beans and toss.

Remove from heat.

To make the pesto, whiz up the nuts, oil, garlic and coriander in a food processor/blender.

When the pasta is cooked (and strained!), add the pea/bean mixture and stir over low heat.

Stir in the pesto, or else just dollop on top!

IMG_0578

I have left the quantities open as it is really your own preference!

Hope you enjoy this meal, I know it is definitely going to become a staple in my house!!

X

Leave a comment