Roasted Carrot Hummus

I have only recently started to make my own hummus, and now that I have, I am wondering what took me so long!!

It is so quick and easy, and ends up being MUCH cheaper than buying store-bought. Obviously, you have the added advantage of knowing exactly what you are eating, and cutting out preservatives and additives often found in processed foods!

12746146_1086023654763025_1808357191_n

Today I wanted to share my favourite recipe, which is from The Happy Pear.

It is basically my basic hummus recipe, with the addition of roasted carrots. They bring a gorgeous sweetness to the hummus, and of course carrots are full of brilliant nutrients like…

Beta carotene– creates vitamin A in the body, great antioxidents

B vitamins…important for many systems of the body, especially for energy metabolism

Fibre…found in all vegetables, keeps your digestive system in check

Carrots are also helpful for heart health, and it’s true what your mother told you, your vision! New research is connecting nutrients in carrot seeds to lowered risk of cataracts in animals (Watch this space!).

My basic hummus recipe:

Ingredients:

1 tin of chickpeas

2tbsp tahini

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, cold pressed

2 tsp coriander

Mix the ingredients in a bowl and blend with a hand blender (or food processor). Add more oil if required, I prefer mine to be quite thick!

12596093_1070908466274544_1376232718_n

For The Happy Pear alternative: chop and roast two carrots in coconut oil for twenty minutes.

Add to the mix and blend!

Enjoy your hummus in a variety of ways, with raw vegetables, as a dip for crisps, in a sandwich, to top a salad, on burgers, on chilli….the list is endless!

Hope you enjoy,

X

Leave a comment